Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Maddon and Piniella Top Notch Managers

Tampa Rays skipper Joe Maddon and Chicago Cubs head honcho Lou Piniella have been named the 2008 AL and NL Managers of the Year. Maddon was far from being a favorite for the award, just like his team was far from being favored to win the AL East.

The Cubs were expected to win the NL Central and they didn't disappoint, despite a short playoff run. Piniella had skippered the Rays prior to taking over the Cubs in 2007.

Piniella defeated Charlie Manuel, manager of the world champion Phillies and our choice for manager of the year, by 36 votes. Former Yankees skipper Joe Torre came in 4th in the voting. Our pre-season pick of Dusty Baker didn't look too good as he got no votes. It was the same case in the AL where we thought Trey Hillman would make a significant difference in Kansas City.

2008 NL Manager of the Year Award Voting
Manager, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Lou Piniella, CHC 15 8 4 103
Charlie Manuel, PHI 8 6 9 67
Fredi Gonzalez, FLA 5 6 5 48
Joe Torre, LAD 3 8 6 45
Tony La Russa, STL 1 1 3 11
Jerry Manuel, NYM
3 1 10
Cecil Cooper, HOU

3 3
Dale Sveum, MIL

1 1

Maddon received 27 of the 28 first place votes in the AL, with second place finisher Ron Gardenhire receiving the only other top vote. Yankees manager Joe Girardi did not receive any votes. The same can be said for the Willie Randolph/Jerry Manuel Mets combo.

2008 AL Manager of the Year Award Voting
Manager, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Joe Maddon, TB 27 1
Ron Gardenhire, MIN 1 15 8 58
Mike Scioscia, LAA
12 9 45
Terry Francona, BOS

6 6
Ozzie Guillen, CWS

3 3
Cito Gaston, TOR

2 2

No comments:

Post a Comment