Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Lincecum Grabs NL CY

San Francisco Giants second year pitcher Tim Lincecum is this year's winner of the National League CY Young Award. Lincecum finished the regular season with an 18-5 record to go along with a 2.62 ERA and a league best 265 strikeouts. The 24-yr old, who looks no more than 14, is just the second Giants pitcher to win the award. Mike McCormick was the other winner in 1967.

Lincecum beat out our choice for the award, Brandon Webb, by 64 votes and picked up 23 first place votes. In his first season in Flushing, two time AL winner Johan Santana finished third. Our pre-season pick, Jake Peavy, didn't receiving any votes. It's still a better pick than our AL choice of Erik Bedard.

2008 NL Cy Young Award Voting
Pitcher, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Tim Lincecum, SF 23 7 1 137
Brandon Webb, ARI 4 15 8 73
Johan Santana, NYM 4 8 11 55
Brad Lidge, PHI
1 7 10
CC Sabathia, MIL 1 1 1 9
Ryan Dempster, CHC

4 4

No comments:

Post a Comment