Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Cano Tops List of AL Gold Glove Winners

Anyone who got the opportunity to watch Robinson Cano play 2nd base this past season knew he had a great chance of winning his first Gold Glove. Today those thoughts came to fruition.

Cano won his first Gold Glove award after a season filled with displays of remarkable range, sparking plays, and most importantly perhaps, consistently making the routine plays.

Cano was joined by shortstop Derek Jeter, who won his 5th Gold Glove, and Mark Teixeira, a 4-time winner. Cano and Jeter became the first Yankees middle infield duo to win the award in the same season.

Adding to their previous awards were pitcher Mark Buehrle, outfielder Ichiro Suzuki, catcher Joe Mauer, and Evan Longoria. In addition to Cano, outfielders Franklin Gutierrez and Carl Crawford each picked up their first award.

Jeter's award, of course, immediately set off a firestorm of discussion on Twitter as does anything the Yankees' captain does.

No comments:

Post a Comment