Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Tex, Cano; Men With the Golden Glove

Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano collect their 2010 Gold Glove Awards
Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano would rather forget how the season ended, especially Cano who went from red hot to freezing cold at the plate in a matter of days.

Both players added to their trophy cases though this evening with the announcement that they had won Gold Glove Awards at their respective positions.

Teixeira won his fifth Gold Glove and third as a Yankee. He's the first Yankees first baseman to win at least three awards since Don Mattingly won from 1991-1994 (Donnie Baseball also won from 1985-1989).

Cano, who had his contract option picked up for 2013 yesterday, won his second Gold Glove, with his previous hardware coming in 2010. The only other Yankees second baseman to win a GG, was Bobby Richardson, who earned the award from 1961-1965. (Personally, I believe Willie Randolph got screwed out of some.)

No comments:

Post a Comment