Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Dawson Lone Electee to Hall

In a stunning surprise, Andre Dawson is the only former baseball player elected to the Hall of Fame in this year's balloting. Dawson was the only player to reached the required 75% total with 77.9%.

Bert Blyleven, despite 287 wins, missed by just .8%. Roberto Alomar, in his first year of eligibility, inexplicably fell short with 73.7%.

To make matters worse, five ballots from the Baseball Writers Association of America (BWAA) were returned completely blank.

Congrats to "The Hawk", but bad job by the BWAA.

No comments:

Post a Comment