Monday, December 7, 2009

Herzog Leads Vets into Hall

Manager Whitey Herzog, who skippered the 1982 St. Louis Cardinals to a World Championship and had several contenders in Kansas City, has been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Veterans Committee.

Joining Herzog is long time National League umpire Doug Harvey, who spent 31 years in the field. Also receiving votes among managers and umpires, but falling short of the required 12 votes, were Danny Murtaugh (8), Hank O'Day (8), and Charlie Grimm (3). Davey Johnson, Billy Martin, Tom Kelly, Gene Mauch and Steve O'Neill all received less than three votes.

Marvin Miller, the long time player representative who helped shape the face of the game today, fell short in the executive/pioneer with just seven votes.

For more on the voting, go to

No comments:

Post a Comment