Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Pedroia Beats Out Cano For AL Gold Glove

Everyone knows that Gold Glove Awards don't necessarily reflect the best defensive player at a given position. That being said the top defenders at second base are Boston's Dustin Pedroia and the Yankees' Robinson Cano. Pedrioa topped Cano for his third career piece of fielding hardware. (The Daily News' Anthony McCarron breaks down the numbers.)

Pedroia previously won in 2008 and 2011, while Cano captured the award in 2009 and 2012. The Baltimore Orioles and Kansas City Royals had the most winners with three each, and there were four first time winners.

1B - Eric Hosmer, KC (1)
2B - Dustin Pedroia, BOS (3)
SS - J.J. Hardy, BAL (2)
3B - Manny Machado, BAL (1)
LF - Alex Gordon, KC (3)
CF - Adam Jones, BAL (3)
RF - Shane Victorino, BOS (4)
  C - Salvador Perez, KC (1)
  P - R.A. Dickey, TOR (1)

Hardy, Gordon, and Jones were the only repeat winners with Gordon pulling off a trifecta.

The National League Gold Glover Winners was topped by the St. Louis Cardinals catcher, Yadier Molina, who won his 6th straight award. The Colorado Rockies, Cardinals, and Arizona Diamondbacks had two winners each. Carlos Gonzalez was the only repeat winner from last year. The Rockies' Nolan Arenado was the lone rookie to be honored.

1B - Paul Goldschmidt, AZ (1)
2B - Brandon Phillips, CIN (4)
SS - Andrelton Simmons, ATL (1)
3B - Nolan Arenado, COL (1)
LF - Carlos Gonzalez, COL (3)
CF - Carlos Gomez, MIL (1)
RF - Gerardo Parra, AZ (2)
  C - Yadier Molina, STL (6)
  P - Adam Wainwright, STL (2)

No comments:

Post a Comment