Friday, November 27, 2009

Phat Albert

A little late in passing this along, but as expected Albert Pujols was named NL MVP on Wednesday. Pujols received all 32 first place votes to finish ahead of Hanley Ramirez, Ryan Howard, and Prince Fielder.

It was Pujols' 2nd consecutive award and his third overall. He's the first NL'er to repeat since Barry Bonds took the award four straight years from 2001-2004.

Despite losing out on the Cy Young award to Tim Lincecum, Chris Carpenter (14) finished highest in the voting among all pitchers.
2009 NL MVP vote leaders
Player 1st 2nd 3rd Points
A. Pujols, STL 32

H. Ramirez, FLA
15 5 233
R. Howard, PHI
6 8 217
P. Fielder, MIL
5 9 203
T. Tulowitzki, COL
3 6 172
A. Ethier, LAD

No comments:

Post a Comment